Wild Ginger Software Forums
Wild Ginger Software Forums
Search Forums | Wiki | WG TV | Newsletter | Blog | Pinterest | Albums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Looking for advice on making a stretchy dress with no zipper
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Wild Ginger Software - Public -> Click&Sew - PublicMessage format

hotsteno
Posted 2010-04-13 1:50 PM (#62131)
Subject: Looking for advice on making a stretchy dress with no zipper

Hi there!

I bought the Click & Sew 1201 Women's Fitting Garments, planning to make myself the simple fitted dress (bodice and skirt) with a few darts, a scoop neckline (not too low, just low enough to show off my grandmother's necklace, which matches the fabric), and no zipper. I bought polyester fabric with a little give in it so that I can just wiggle into it.

In case you can't tell already, I am not very experienced at sewing, and this is my first experience making something with Click & Sew.

I have two questions:

1. I'm planning on just ignoring the zipper and sewing up the back of the dress. Even though the fabric is a little bit stretchy, should I leave myself a little more room? How much room? And where exactly do I enter that in the software? I'm guessing "ease settings." Is that right?

2. I want the neckline to scoop just enough to show off my pretty necklace. I think that's about 3.5-4 inches below the wishbone. However, "neckline settings" front depth doesn't go beyond 1.5. Maybe I'm misunderstanding what that means or how that's measured. If anyone could please tell me where to enter the settings for the scoop neckline I'm looking for, that would be great.

Thanks for your help! I am really looking forward to working on my new dress.

Missy
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Lisa - Tech Support
Posted 2010-04-13 3:29 PM (#62132 - in reply to #62131)
Subject: RE: Looking for advice on making a stretchy dress with no zipper