Wild Ginger Software Forums
Wild Ginger Software Forums
Search Forums | Wiki | WG TV | Newsletter | Blog | Pinterest | Albums | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

quick question
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Wild Ginger Software - Public -> Digital Flat Pattern - PublicMessage format
 
rosemary
Posted 2009-12-21 5:53 PM (#60156)
Subject: quick question



Certified Educator

Posts: 509
500
Location: Houston, TX
Can the DFP software be loaded onto two computers like the Pattern Master programs?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Lisa - Tech Support
Posted 2009-12-21 7:59 PM (#60160 - in reply to #60156)
Subject: RE: quick question



Administrator

Posts: 2950
20005001001001001002525
Location: Auburn, AL
rosemary - 2009-12-21 5:53 PM

Can the DFP software be loaded onto two computers like the Pattern Master programs?


Yes, that is fine. Keep in mind that it does not print. It will only save. You can open the files in PE if you want to print or you can do the exercises in PE.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
rosemary
Posted 2009-12-21 10:00 PM (#60163 - in reply to #60160)
Subject: RE: quick question



Certified Educator

Posts: 509
500
Location: Houston, TX
Thanks, Lisa.
Point One - Just out of interest, as an aside, will the notches transfer to PE and print? !! Please say yes...

Point Two - The reason I ask about the two computers is that I have discovered I have problems printing to my HP Designjet 500 from Vista 32. But I am OK printing from my laptop which has XP. (But if I can't print from DFP I guess it doesn't matter...) Anyway, (and I guess from the PE point of view), - I had a 2 hr phone call with HP today and determined there was no problem with HP or the printer which just leaves Windows or Wild Ginger to 'blame'. They told me to maybe talk to Microsoft or you guys. Are you able to 'fix' it? So long as I can print from the laptop just now (from PE ) I'm happy - but the laptop has a miniscule screen which is hard to work with for drafting. And, down the road, if one computer crashes I am stuck working solely with the other. So it would be good to resolve if it is possible.

Have I made this clear as mud?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Karen - Tech Support
Posted 2009-12-22 6:59 AM (#60164 - in reply to #60156)
Subject: RE: quick question



Tech Support

500050001000252525
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Wild Ginger programs use the windows print driver.  Make sure it is up to date.

What is the problem printing?

Recently someone with an HP print problem - she was not getting all the lines, changed the thickness of the line and was fine.

Also don't see why notches wouldn't print if they are saved.  The las file is a complete file. 

Top of the page Bottom of the page
rosemary
Posted 2009-12-22 8:06 AM (#60165 - in reply to #60164)
Subject: RE: quick question



Certified Educator

Posts: 509
500
Location: Houston, TX
The HP person confirmed I was using the correct driver, and we checked that print jobs from other applications were printing. Bizarrely it prints only the top portion of the job. I can certainly try changing the line width. Whatever it is it seems to be linked to Vista 32 as I am printing OK from XP on the other computer, regardless of line thickness. And previous to this I had two other computers which had no problem with the printer (neither with Vista).

Did you really post your reply at 4:59am? What does 4:59am look like?

Thanks,
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Karen - Tech Support
Posted 2009-12-22 9:11 AM (#60166 - in reply to #60156)
Subject: RE: quick question



Tech Support

500050001000252525
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
I think it was after 5.   I didn't get up until 5:15.   I took my friend to the airport this am.  Left here at 5:45 to pick her up.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Karen - Tech Support
Posted 2009-12-22 9:13 AM (#60167 - in reply to #60156)
Subject: RE: quick question



Tech Support

500050001000252525
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

I run on vista 32 and have a very old HP4M Plus.  Before that I had the HP4L - both printed patterns correctly.

Make sure your Vista is up to date.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
rowena___.
Posted 2009-12-22 9:19 AM (#60168 - in reply to #60167)
Subject: RE: quick question



20001000500100100100
Location: music city, USA
i have three HP printers and they all work using vista 32.


Top of the page Bottom of the page
rosemary
Posted 2009-12-22 9:55 AM (#60169 - in reply to #60156)
Subject: RE: quick question



Certified Educator

Posts: 509
500
Location: Houston, TX
thanks, Rowena and Karen, for info re Vista 32 and HP's - I'll keep trying to trick it into cooperating. I'm sure it's something silly and simple.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
rosemary
Posted 2009-12-27 3:15 PM (#60238 - in reply to #60156)
Subject: RE: quick question - (print problem resolved)



Certified Educator

Posts: 509
500
Location: Houston, TX
Well - blow me down - I changed the line width from bold to normal and got one whole unexpurgated print. Who would have guessed it? Apart from Karen. To whom I once again extend my most grateful thanks.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Karen - Tech Support
Posted 2009-12-28 8:44 AM (#60245 - in reply to #60156)
Subject: RE: quick question



Tech Support

500050001000252525
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
That info came from a user having printing problems.  That is why when we are not sure why something is happening and we give suggestions to fix it, we ask that you let us know so we can keep that info in our tech folder.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)
© 1995-2017 Wild Ginger Software, Inc. All rights reserved.