Design Help - 1 of 2 designs
tam11045
Posted 2017-12-01 7:46 AM (#92371)
Subject: Design Help - 1 of 2 designs

New User

Hello

After a three-year sewing absence I am ready to get behind the machine again and make a new wardrobe for myself. My sewing skills are rusty, but I consider myself an intermediate sewer. As a designer I consider myself a beginner.

I have two shirts that I would love to duplicate for myself (my dimensions not exact to picture) and welcome any and all assistance/suggestions on how to design the attached shirt which to me, has a lot of details. I have PMB5, and in my attempt to duplicate the blouse I tried BLOUSE, RAGLAN, SINGLE BREASTED, VEE FRONT, JEWEL NECKLINE WITH FITTED SIDESEAM, FLARED HEMLINE SWEEP with STRAIGHT HEMLINE SHAPE. Sleeve is STRAIGHT ONE PIECE and I couldn't find the correct cuff.

The shirt itself seems to be more full in the photo than my design. I prefer the fullness of the shirt over the fitted of my design. I don't know how to make the overlap in the front greater without changing the entire shape of the final shirt and losing the upper "open v" of the neckline. The back of the shirt is a yoke and my design isn't. I can't figure out how to get the fullness, front shape and arm style with the yoke unless I manually cut/paste the pattern I design.

And finally for this design, the collar really throws me off. If I try to make a shirt with that collar then I lose the wrap front with open vee.

Thank you in advance for your help!!

Tammy

(white shirt 1.jpg)

(white shirt 2.jpg)

(white shirt 3.jpg)

(white shirt 4 pmb5 design.JPG)

Attachments
----------------
Attachments white shirt 1.jpg (35KB - 4 downloads)
Attachments white shirt 2.jpg (29KB - 2 downloads)
Attachments white shirt 3.jpg (30KB - 3 downloads)
Attachments white shirt 4 pmb5 design.JPG (32KB - 4 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
familysewn
Posted 2017-12-04 9:17 AM (#92380 - in reply to #92371)
Subject: RE: Design Help - 1 of 2 designs